Cancer classification according to modern medical science.

According to modern medical science cancers are divided into main three types.

(1) Carcinoma
(2) Sarcoma
(3) Leukemia

These three types are explained in Ayurveda as under,
(i) carcinomas fall under the category of uttana arbuda.
(ii) Sarcomas fall under the category of gambhir arbuda.
(iii) Leukemia falls under the category of rasdhtvagni vikara arbuda.

(1) Carcinomas – This type of cancer occurs in the epithelium or endothelium of the organ, so they can be named as uttana arbud meaning superficial Carcinomas can be further understood as
- Squamous cell carcinomas (cancers of throat, mouth, larynx, esophagus etc.)
- Basal cell carcinomas (cancers of the skin of the face.)
- Transitional cell carcinomas (cancers of the urinary bladder, kidney etc.)
- Adeno carcinoma (cancers of stomach, intestine, breast, uterus, prostate, thyroid, liver etc.)

(2) Sarcoma – This type of cancer occurs in the deeper tissues of the body other than epithelium like muscles, bones, cartiledges etc. Hence they are called Gambhir arbuda, meaning deep seated.
Sarcoma occurs in
- Fat cells – Lipo sarcoma
- Fiber cells – Fibro sarcoma
- Smooth muscles – Leiomyo sarcoma
- Big muscles – Rhabdomyosarcoma
- Lymph nodes – lymphoma

(3) Leukemia – This is the cancer occurring in the haemophoetic system, i.e. blood forming system.
This system goes cancerous, producing and pouring immature blood cells in the circulation. This immaturity can be understood as impaired transformation of rasa dhatu into Rakta dhatu. As a result of weak rasa-dhatwagni. Leukemias are classified as
- Acute myeloblastic leukemia (AML)
- Chronic myeloblastic leukemia (CML)
- Acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL)
- Chronic lymphoblastic leukemia (CLL)


(Prepared by Divyajyot Ayurvedic Research foundation India. We are conducting research and treatment in Ayurvedic herbal cure of cancer since last 25 years. The data and information contained on this site is based on Ayurvedic herbal wisdom and our research.)